USDLA Presented 2003 Distance Learning Awards, Eagle Award and Inducted Three into prestigious USDLA Hall of Fame on April 30, 2003 at Learning and Training Week Conference, Washington, D.C.

May 1, 2003

Awards for Excellence in Distance Learning Teaching were presented to James Theroux, Ph.D. of UMass Online and The University of Massachusetts Amherst for Higher Education; William L. Atkinson, M.D. Medical Epidemiologist for the National Immunization Program Center for Disease Control for Government; Mary Mitchell, Florida Virtual School for PreK-12 Education; and Denise B. Freeman, D.P.M, College of Podiatric Medicine, Des Moines University for Telehealth.

Awards for Excellence in Distance Learning Programming, recognized organizations that have designed and delivered outstanding and comprehensive distance learning programs and were presented to The University of Wisconsin-Madison – Master of Engineering Professional Practice Degree Program for Higher Education; to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Department of Health and Human Services for the Public Health Training Network for Government; to Florida Virtual School for Pre K-12 Education; to the University of Delaware-Dietetic Internship Program for Telehealth; and to The International Petroleum Industry Multimedia Systems for Corporations.

Awards for Most Outstanding Achievement by an Individual included Curtis J. Bonk Ph.D., Indiana University, School of Education for Higher Education; Dennis L. McDowell, Director, PDED, Centers for Disease Control for Government; Bruce Friend, Chief Academic Officer, Florida Virtual School for Pre K-12, and Lisa Neal, Ph.D., Editor in Chief of ACM eLearn Magazine for Corporations.

In addition, USDLA honored Senator Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) with its 2003 Eagle Award for his leadership and long-standing continued support of the Universal Service Program, coupled with his legislative efforts for funding public telecommunication services for education and cultural programs as well as his overall commitment to distance education and training programs for all U. S. citizens.

Inducted into the USDLA Hall of Fame were Dr. Alan Chute, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of the Ohio Distance Learning Association, Dr. Chere Campbell Gibson, Professor, School of Human Ecology, University of Wisconsin, Madison and Ms. Julie Young, Executive Director of the Florida Virtual School.